July 04, 2008

The 11th Anniversity of Independance: More work to be done

Courtesy of www.aviewoncities.com

This picture might represent how Independence Hall looked as the Convention adjourned to July 5, 1787 .

Monday, July 2, 1787
Debate of how the 2nd branch of government should consist and as ever, a committee was formed.

On the question for committing 15 "to a member from each State."

Massts. ay. Cont. ay. N. Y. ay. N. J. ay. Pa. no. Del. ay. Md. ay. Va. ay. N. C. ay. S. C. ay. Geo. ay. 16

The Committee elected by ballot, were Mr. Gerry, Mr. Elseworth, Mr. Yates, Mr. Patterson, Dr. Franklin, Mr. Bedford, Mr. Martin, Mr. Mason, Mr. Davy, Mr. Rutlidge, Mr. Baldwin.

That time might be given to the Committee, and to such as chose to attend to the celebrations on the anniversary of Independence, the Convention adjourned till Thursday.

From the Debates in the Federal Convention of 1787 by James Madison


Robert said...

it's spelled anniversary. WTF is Anniversity??

Hathor said...

Its a misspelling.